REVIEW: DAREDEVIL #31

Right from the beginning Daredevil opens with floodgates of sentiment. I’d never I’d be this interested in a character’s in a comic, that’s are not the superhero but writer Mark Waid has built this environment so beautifully. When we see Foggy in the mids of his treatment, I want to read about it, when we see Kristen in their law practice I want to see how it plays out. Waid has developed this world so well that its easy to connect to.

That emotion draws real feelings, but Waid also pulls on some other realistic allegories in this issue, referencing the Trayvon Martin case in a pseudo court case used where a defendant everyone thought was guilty is released. Even throwing real life activist, Al Sharpton and Cronell West in the mix. But what happens after the verdict in the fake case is what causes trouble.The identity of the jurors who made the incredibly controversial decision are released on national television and their lives are in danger. But the source of the problem is one that’s been plaguing Matt Murdock for the last few issues. Chaos ensues as Daredevil tries to get to the bottom of this craziness. Daredevil_Vol_3_31_Textless

Chis Samnee draws the hell out of every damn issue of Daredevil. There’s no other way to put it. I expect quality and I’m immediately granted it when I open this book. Sometimes it even exceeds my expectations. The way he draws the character has been burned into my brain and I can envision him no other way. Along with Waid’s words, it’s an unstoppable train.

Waid and Samnee have crafted ridiculously genuine Daredevil since the beginning. They’ve been playing off every sensation throughout the series, drawing you in, inch by inch just like you’re hooked on a fishing reel and I think they’ve caught us for good. Once again Daredevil hits another home run.

Final Score: 5/5